John Carroll Receives the Award of Merit, and other Alumni are Honored at the Ala. Bar Meeting

Posted: Fri, 07/18/2014 - 14:08

Every year, Cumberland School of Law alumni are honored at the Alabama State Bar Annual Meeting. At the 2014 Bar Meeting held in Destin, Fla., Anthony A. Joseph’s (’80) term ended as the 2013-14 Alabama State Bar President. Before Joseph’s term closed, he honored fellow alumni, among others, with Ala. State Bar awards.

Alumnus and outgoing dean of Cumberland School of Law Judge John L. Carroll ’74 received the Award of Merit. This award is the highest honor given by the Ala. State Bar to a lawyer, and serves to recognize outstanding constructive service to the legal profession in Ala.

J. Anthony “Tony” McLain ’77 received the Professionalism Award in recognition of his many years of service to the Ala. State Bar. Following the presentation of the award, it was announced the award will be further known as the J. Anthony "Tony" McLain Award.

George “Jack” M. Neal ’77 and Judge John E. Ott ’81 were chosen, among others, to receive the President’s Award. The award is presented to members of the bar who best exemplify the Alabama State Bar motto, "Lawyers Render Service." The recipients are chosen by the current president.

The Huntsville law firm Siniard, Timberlake & League PC, representing four alumni, Heath Brooks ’08, Ellen Melson ’02, Michael Timberlake ’95 and Chris Wooten ’08, and others, received the Pro Bono Firm/Group Award.  The firm has been dedicated to providing support to those in need through the Madison County, Ala., Volunteer Lawyers Program.

The following retiring bar commissioners received recognition for their service:

Joseph A. Fawal ’77
Albert J. Trousdale II ’90
John L. Jernigan III ’74
Robert H. Brogden ’72
Alexander M. Smith ’78

Cumberland School of Law students were also recognized at the Bar Meeting. Hilaire Armstrong, rising second-year student from, of Hoover, Ala., received the Justice Janie L. Shores Scholarship awarded by the Women’s Section of the Ala. State Bar. The award is named in honor of the first female Alabama Supreme Court Justice. Rising third-year law students Rushton Thrift of Seneca, S.C., and Kaila Garcia-Rios Wilson of Butler, Ala., were invited to attend the Bar Meeting by the Alabama State Bar.

Additional details and awards recipients can be found at